Mike Ross
mikeross03.bsky.social
Mike Ross
@mikeross03.bsky.social
Ex rugby player for Leinster and Ireland, now tech sales. Tech, gaming, BJJ, whiskey and BBQ enthusiast. Email david@lineupsports.ie. Views my own.
In no world is his body "parallel to the touch line". If it was, the whole scrum wouldn't go sideways and back, it would just go back. He hits in and drives across, as your video showed. If you studiously refuse to acknowledge that then there's little further point engaging with you.
December 1, 2025 at 1:28 PM
Du Toit attacks on the angle (you can see it in the video), goes in on Sheehan, breaks the joint with Marx, gets past Porter and the whole scrum goes infield. Du Toit has pulled his elbow back to narrow his shoulders and get through, leaving Porter with nothing to push on. Straight it's not.
December 1, 2025 at 12:48 PM
You know what binding does yes? Tighthead pushes down, loosehead pushes up. Loosehead stabilises himself with the bind by pulling his left arm up, which has Newton's law effect of pulling tighthead down. Every single LH does this. The jersey has rotated around THs torso from the bind. Not illegal.
December 1, 2025 at 12:00 PM
That's the scrum settling post impact, you can see most of Sheehan's side prior to engage too. Again, where is du Toit heading off to? Is he square would you say?
December 1, 2025 at 11:53 AM
Ok, show me the law that states elbow pointing down is always illegal. I've looked and I can't find it but maybe you'll have better luck.
December 1, 2025 at 11:46 AM
Unforgivable to make that mistake so. His bind starts on the side, and because he has bound on the jersey and not the skin, the jersey stretches. He ends up hanging on to the jersey which has now slipped down. He has however, bound correctly.
December 1, 2025 at 11:44 AM
His arse isn't swung out at all. Du Toit however, has his body angled in towards Sheehan and is trying to break the joint with Porter which he succeeds in. I'm not sure why you can't admit he drives across to the left, it's clear as day. As he goes across and forward then Porters arse comes out
December 1, 2025 at 11:41 AM
Also, if it's always illegal to have the elbow pointing down then why is it not blown immediately? It's usually picked as the offense *after* the scrum collapses. Like I said, refs use it as a shortcut to assign blame for collapse.
December 1, 2025 at 11:32 AM
That's a stretch Tim and you know it. You said Nicky Smith was taking Porter apart, making the classic backs error of mixing 1 and 3. Where do you think Porter is binding then if not side or back?
December 1, 2025 at 11:29 AM
Does that make du Toit go in at a 10 o'clock angle?
December 1, 2025 at 11:17 AM
Nicky Smith is a loosehead. It's impossible for him to take apart Porter considering they're the opposite side. Also, there is nothing in law (go look) that elbow down bind is illegal. It has however, been used as a shortcut for referees to allocate blame in the scrum so probably needs to stop it
December 1, 2025 at 11:15 AM